The City of Springfield administration consists of a Mayor and six (6) Council Members. The Mayor and Council determine policies, enact legislation, and provide political leadership in the community. Council meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month at 6:00 pm in the Council Chambers located at 130 S Laurel St. The term of office is four (4) years with elections being staggered every two (2) years. Municipal elections for Mayor and Council are nonpartisan (held without primaries) and by number of the votes cast. Elections are conducted in accordance with Title 21 of the O.C.G.A., the Georgia Election Code.

city of Springfield




Notice of Candidate Qualifying For Municipal General Election


Notice is hereby given that a Municipal General Election for the City of Springfield will be held on November 7, 2023 for the offices of three (3) Council Members (Non-Partisan At Large).


Qualifying for said election will be held on the following dates and location listed below:

Candidate Qualifying Dates: Monday, August 21, 2023 – Friday, August 25, 2023

Candidate Qualifying Times: 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Location: Springfield City Hall – 130 South Laurel Street – Springfield, GA 31329


The Candidate Qualifying fee for said offices will be twenty-five ($25.00) for Council Member.


To be eligible to qualify as a candidate one must:

  • Be at least 21 years of age;
  • A resident of the City of Springfield for twelve (12) months preceding the election;
  • A qualified voter in the City of Springfield; and
  • Not be disqualified to hold an office in the state.


Jennifer Y. Smith, City Clerk

City of Springfield